Der Rosenkavalier

Der Rosenkavalier

R Strauss Burleske for Piano and Orchestra
R Strauss Suite from Der Rosenkavalier
Brahms Symphony No1

Brahms’ First Symphony begins with the pounding of a broken heart and ends with one of the noblest tunes in all of western music. It’s a gripping finish for our journey through the world of this great German Romantic; but first, something completely different – as pianist Kirill Gerstein plays Richard Strauss’ anarchic salute to Brahms, and Thomas Søndergård and the RSNO waltz their way through the fairytale Vienna of Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier.

Sat 12 May 2018, 7.30PM

Box Office: 0141 353 8000


£37, £29, £23, £17.50, £12.50


Under 16s free, Under 26s/Mature Students/Unemployed £6, Disabled Patrons 50% off

Featured Artists

Thomas  Søndergård

Thomas Søndergård


Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård is Principal Guest Conductor of Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) and Principal Conductor of BBC National Orchestra of Wales (BBCNOW); prior to this, he was for three seasons Principal Conductor and Musical Advisor of the Norwegian Radio Orchestra.

Plans for 2016:17 include debuts with Bayerische Staatsoper (Turandot), London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw, London Symphony Orchestra and Deutsche Oper Berlin (world premiere of Scartazzini’s Edward II) and return visits to Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and Royal Danish Opera (Il viaggio a Reims). With RSNO, projects include Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with Janine Jansen and with BBC NOW, the complete Stravinsky Firebird, recordings and touring.

Recent seasons have included Leipzig Gewandhaus, DSO Berlin, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Bamberg Symphony; leading tours with Junge Deutsche Philiharmonie and European Union Youth Orchestra; Rotterdam Philharmonic, Netherlands Philharmonic, Luxembourg Philharmonic, Brussels Philharmonic; Swedish Radio Symphony, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Oslo Philharmonic, Danish National Symphony; Gothenburg Symphony, Orchestre National d’Ile de France, Brussels and Luxembourg Philharmonics; Toronto, Atlanta, Vancouver, Houston and Seattle Symphony Orchestras; Philharmonia Orchestra and BBC Symphony.

Kirill  Gerstein

Kirill Gerstein


In August 2016, Gerstein returned to the BBC Proms in a performance of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto (1879 version) with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard. The Independent wrote of his performance: “Technically flawless and imbued with benign authority, his performance was studded with moments of unexpected beauty; one seldom sees an audience erupt with such spontaneous delight.” Gerstein has recently made his debut with the Vienna Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestras. In the 2016/17 season he will appear with the BBC Symphony Orchestra as part of their Tchaikovsky Festival curated by Semyon Bychkov performing the composer’s Second and Third Piano Concertos, make his debut with the Orchestre National de France, and will return to the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, and WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln. A regular guest of all the major orchestras in the USA, this season Gerstein performs Busoni’s Piano Concerto in C with the Boston Symphony, Schonberg’s Piano Concerto with the Cleveland Orchestra and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto (1879 version) with the New York Philharmonic. In recital he performs at the Vienna Konzerthaus, the new Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and Flagey in Brussels.