Sibelius Five

Sibelius Five

Mozart Symphony No. 31 in D Major, K. 297 [300a], "Paris"
Korngold Violin Concerto in D Major, Op.35
Sibelius Symphony No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 82

“Today I saw 16 swans. God, what beauty!” A vision of natural wonder inspired the tune that crowns Sibelius’ Fifth Symphony – and once heard, it’s never forgotten. Rising British conductor Jamie Phillips will charge every note with freshness and awe. But before that, the 22-year old Mozart takes Paris by storm and the one and only Ning Feng pours out his heart in the sumptuous Violin Concerto by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, the Viennese genius who defined the ‘Hollywood sound’.

Fri 26 Jan 2018, 7.30PM

Box Office: 01228 633766


£32.50, £31.50, £30.50 plus a booking fee of 55p per ticket booked in person/by telephone or 7% per transaction online


Senior Citizens £2 off, Unemployed 50% off, Children under 16 and students £10.

Featured Artists

Jamie  Phillips

Jamie Phillips


Jamie Phillips first came to international attention through his success in the Nestle Salzburg Conducting Award in 2012. He has since developed a strong guest conducting profile, demonstrating a natural authority and confidence on the rostrum, which he combines with a clear, expressive technique and innate musicality. He has been described as having “an uncommon ability to pick up a familiar piece by the scruff its neck and shake invigorating new life into it.” – Bachtrack. In recent seasons, Phillips has conducted the Los Angeles Philharmonic when in residence as a Gustavo Dudamel Fellow, the BBC Symphony Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Royal Northern Sinfonia, Manchester Camerata, Nash Ensemble, the orchestra of Welsh National Opera, Ulster Orchestra, RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, Mozarteumorchester Salzburg, Camerata Salzburg, Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, Swedish Chamber Orchestra, Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra, Luxembourg Philharmonic Orchestra, and Brussels Philharmonic. Phillips was Assistant Conductor of the Hallé from 2012 – 2015 and was the youngest conductor to work with the orchestra. In the 2015/16 season the orchestra created the post of Associate Conductor for him.

Ning  Feng

Ning Feng


Established at the highest level in China, Ning Feng performs regularly in his native country with major international and local orchestras, in recital and with the Dragon Quartet which he founded in 2012. Now based in Berlin and enjoying a global career, Ning Feng has developed a reputation internationally as an artist of great lyricism and emotional transparency, displaying tremendous bravura and awe-inspiring technical accomplishment. Born in Chengdu, China, Ning Feng studied at the Sichuan Conservatory of Music, the Hanns Eisler School of Music (Berlin) with Antje Weithaas and the Royal Academy of Music (London) with Hu Kun, where he was the first student ever to be awarded 100% for his final recital. The recipient of prizes at the Hanover International, Queen Elisabeth and Yehudi Menuhin International violin competitions, Ning Feng was First Prize winner of the 2005 Michael Hill International Violin Competition (New Zealand), and in 2006 won first prize in the International Paganini Competition.