R Strauss Burleske for Piano and Orchestra
R Strauss Suite from Der Rosenkavalier
Brahms Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68

Thomas Søndergård Conductor
Kirill Gerstein Piano



Box Office

Featured Artists

Thomas Søndergård

Thomas Søndergård Conductor

Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård is Principal Conductor of BBC National Orchestra of Wales (BBCNOW) and Principal Guest Conductor of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO). From the start of the 2018:19 season he becomes Music Director of the RSNO.

Highlights of his 2016:17 season have included debuts with London Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw and London Symphony Orchestras, Bayerische Staatsoper (Turandot) and Deutsche Oper Berlin (world premiere of Scartazzini’s Edward II). He also made return visits to Oslo Philharmonic, Göteborgs Symfoniker, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Danish National Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and Royal Danish Opera (Il viaggio a Reims). With the RSNO, projects have included Sibelius’ Violin Concerto with Janine Jansen and with BBC NOW, the complete Stravinsky The Firebird, recordings and touring.

Future plans include returns to Sydney and BBC Symphony Orchestras, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse, Norske Opera Oslo (Die Zauberflöte) and debuts with Rundfunk Symphony Orchestra Berlin, SWR Baden-Baden, Strasbourg Philharmonic, Gurzenich Orchestra and Bern Symphony. Recent seasons have included Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, Mahler Chamber Orchestra, Bamberger Symphoniker; leading tours with Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and European Union Youth Orchestra; Rotterdam Philharmonic, Netherlands Radio, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Brussels Philharmonic; Swedish Radio, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Oslo Philharmonic, Danish National Symphony, Göteborgs Symfoniker, Orchestre National d’Ile de France; Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra, Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Houston Symphony and Seattle Symphony Orchestra; Philharmonia Orchestra and BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Kirill  Gerstein

Kirill Gerstein Piano

In August 2016, Gerstein returned to the BBC Proms in a performance of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto (1879 version) with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard. The Independent wrote of his performance: “Technically flawless and imbued with benign authority, his performance was studded with moments of unexpected beauty; one seldom sees an audience erupt with such spontaneous delight.” Gerstein has recently made his debut with the Vienna Philharmonic, Berlin Philharmonic and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestras. In the 2016/17 season he will appear with the BBC Symphony Orchestra as part of their Tchaikovsky Festival curated by Semyon Bychkov performing the composer’s Second and Third Piano Concertos, make his debut with the Orchestre National de France, and will return to the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig, Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, and WDR Sinfonieorchester Köln. A regular guest of all the major orchestras in the USA, this season Gerstein performs Busoni’s Piano Concerto in C with the Boston Symphony, Schonberg’s Piano Concerto with the Cleveland Orchestra and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto (1879 version) with the New York Philharmonic. In recital he performs at the Vienna Konzerthaus, the new Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and Flagey in Brussels.