RSNO Season update: Andrey Boreyko replaces James Conlon - Royal Scottish National Orchestra
RSNO Season update: Andrey Boreyko replaces James Conlon

News & Blog

RSNO Season update: Andrey Boreyko replaces James Conlon Posted Wed 20 April 2022

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra (RSNO) announces a change in conductor for this weekend’s Shostakovich Spectacular concerts.

Conductor James Conlon has had to withdraw from this week’s concerts in Perth, Edinburgh and Glasgow. The RSNO is grateful to Andrey Boreyko for taking his place, conducting a programme of Shostakovich including his Second Piano Concerto and Fifth Symphony. The Orchestra and Boreyko are joined by soloist Simon Trpčeski.

Andrey Boreyko is Music and Artistic Director of Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra and Naples Philharmonic, having previously worked in Hamburg, Düsseldorf and Winnipeg and for the Orchestre National de Belgique.

The RSNO’s performance in Perth is kindly supported by the Gannochy Trust. The Gannochy Trust has supported the Perth Concert Series annually since 1995. In recent years the Trust’s major grant has enabled the four partners to develop opportunities for young people to engage with live orchestral music, encouraging a lifetime connection while at the same time developing a range of important transferable skills. Further information about the Trust is available at

Tickets for the concerts are on sale now and available here.


Thursday 21 April 2022: 7.30pm, Perth Concert Hall

Friday 22 April 2022: 7.30pm, Usher Hall, Edinburgh

Saturday 23 April 2022: 7.30pm, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Shostakovich – Suite from Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk

Shostakovich – Piano Concerto No2

Shostakovich – Symphony No5


Andrey Boreyko

Simon Trpčeski


Keep in touchJoin our mailing list