Notes From Scotland

Notes from Scotland is an exciting composition opportunity for young, budding composers aged 12–18 run in partnership with The National Trust for Scotland. Composers are invited to write a two- to five-minute piece of music for an instrumental trio, quartet or quintet of their choice based on the theme provided.

Sixteen-year-old Alexander Papp was the winner of the 2017 Notes from Scotland. Following the closing date for entries, four works were chosen to be performed by an RSNO ensemble at the RSNO Centre in front of a panel of judges including Scottish composers Jennifer Martin and Oliver Searle. Alexander received an iPad Pro with music software packages included, as well as VIP access to future RSNO concerts. The theme for the competition was taken from Scotland’s outstanding landmarks; Culzean Castle, Ayrshire; Glen Coe, The Highlands; Hill House, Argyll and Bute; Newhailes, Edinburgh, and House of Dun, Angus.

Alexander Papp
Composition Title: Progeny
Inspired by Glen Coe
Alexander, age 16, is in Year 11 at Bedford School, where he is a Music Scholar. Alexander studies violin at Junior Guildhall (JGSM) with Gonzalo Acosta and composition with Paul Whitmarsh and Emma-Ruth Richards.
Currently, he is an Associate Composer with the Britten Sinfonia Academy, who performed his piece The Book of Hours at the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge and workshopped his piece Divergent on stage at the Barbican with Sir James MacMillan.
In September 2017, Alexander took up a scholarship at the Purcell School, following which he intends to pursue a career as a composer.

Panelist and RSNO Artistic Director for Learning and Engagement William Chandler:
“The year’s Notes from Scotland composition competition was the largest and most competitive one ever. Pieces were submitted from as far away as New York City and from composers as young as twelve years old. I don’t envy the judges’ task in choosing a winner this year but am thrilled that Progeny by Alexander Papp has been awarded the top prize. Congratulations to Alexander for a truly remarkable work and a huge thank you to all who entered.”

Panelist and Composer Jennifer Martin:
“The culmination of projects like Notes from Scotland are always incredibly inspiring. The four finalists have us the full range of emotional responses to the National Trust for Scotland properties which provided their inspiration. Our winner, Alexander Papp, is one to watch!”

Notes From Scotland 2017 winner Alexander Papp:
“I am delighted to win this prestigious award! I never thought I would reach the final so winning it was just a dream come true! I would like to thank the RSNO for giving me this immense opportunity. I will remember it for the rest of my life.”

© Royal Scottish National Orchestra 2018