RSNO Composers’ Hub 2020:21 Announced - Royal Scottish National Orchestra
RSNO Composers’ Hub 2020:21 Announced

News & Blog About Us

RSNO Composers’ Hub 2020:21 Announced Posted Wed 18 November 2020

RSNO Composers’ Hub 2020:21 Announced

The Royal Scottish National Orchestra has welcomed six emerging composers for the sixth year of the RSNO Composers’ Hub, which for the first time welcomes an international participant from Poland.

The talented group chosen from dozens of applicants will benefit from working closely with Scotland’s national orchestra as they develop compositions, with guidance from award-winning composer and RSNO Composers’ Hub mentor Stuart MacRae.

For the first time this year, the Composers’ Hub welcomes support from the Adam Mickiewicz Institute which funds the involvement of a Polish participant. The move is part of the RSNO Digital Season’s Polska Scotland programme celebrating musical links between Scotland and Poland.

The group of chosen composers are: Angela Elizabeth Slater, Ben Lunn, Conrad Asman, Jasper Dommett, George Stevenson, and Karol Nepelski from Poland.

Each participant is given the opportunity to write orchestral compositions of different lengths and work with the RSNO to develop their ideas, skills, and forge new creative relationships.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Composers’ Hub will function differently this year. The Composers’ Hub members still have the opportunity of writing a work for the RSNO, and each composer will work closely with RSNO musicians to discuss ideas and techniques and to develop a short piece for those musicians. Out of these meetings, each composer will write a 7-10 minute piece for full symphony orchestra. The scheme will culminate in a public workshop at the RSNO Centre in June 2021. One work will be chosen to be performed in the RSNO’s 2021:22 Season.

Commenting on this year’s Hub, Stuart MacRae said: “This year the RSNO Composers’ Hub will enable participants to form closer working relationships with individual players through technology, building towards the final orchestral workshop. I’m thrilled to be working with this group of exceptional composers and look forward to seeing them rise to the challenges of working closely with a world-class orchestra.”

RSNO Director of Artistic Planning and Engagement Bill Chandler said: “Our 2020:21 Composers’ Hub has been as popular as ever with significant efforts being made to adapt the programme to utilise digital technology for safe working. The participants will have the chance to build closer bonds to with RSNO musicians and regularly workshop their ideas and compositions with them.

“This year we welcome a sixth composer to the Composers’ Hub thanks to our partnership with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute this Season. 2020 has been challenging, but adversity can breed great creativity, so I am really looking forward to hearing what this brilliant group of emerging composers create with us in the Hub and sharing it with you all.”

The RSNO is grateful to The RVW Trust, The Leche Trust, The Garrick Charitable Trust, The Idlewild Trust, and the Michael Tippett Musical Foundation for their support of UK-based participants in the 2020:21 Composers’ Hub.

The project is partially supported by the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the international cultural programme marking the centenary of Poland’s regained independence. Financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of the Republic of Poland as part of the multi-annual NIEPODLEGŁA programme 2017-2022.

Photo above:

Top left to right: Jasper Dommett, Angela Slater, Karol Nepelski

Bottom left to right: Conrad Asman, Ben Lunn, George Stevenson

Keep in touchJoin our mailing list