Ticket Availability Alert:

Beethoven Egmont Overture
Barber Violin Concerto
Brahms Symphony No4

Angus Webster Conductor
Maya Iwabuchi Violin



Box Office

Featured Artists

Angus Webster

Angus Webster Conductor

Praised by orchestras for his inspiring musicianship, British conductor and pianist Angus Webster is one of the most promising young musicians of his generation. Since winning joint top prize and the orchestra prize at the Panula International Conducting Competition in 2018, Angus was selected to become one of the first Salonen Fellows at the Colburn School in Los Angeles where he currently studies under the personal mentorship of world-renowned conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen.

In addition to conducting the Colburn School's flagship orchestras and assisting Salonen with his engagements around the world, Angus will make his début with the Philharmonia Orchestra in February 2020 conducting two concerts including Beethoven's Symphony No3 Eroica and Brahms' Symphony No2. Other forthcoming highlights include presenting and conducting a series of educational concerts in Los Angeles with Colburn School's Zipper Orchestra in October 2019 and returning to the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire to conduct its symphony orchestra in June 2020.

Born in 1999, Angus spent most of his childhood in Cornwall, England and began his musical education aged six with piano lessons from Elena Needham. Aged nine, he started producing and presenting a classical music programme live on local radio in Cornwall, and three years later Angus made his conducting début with Cornwall Youth Orchestra in Tchaikovsky's Romeo & Juliet. He was later appointed principal conductor, and together they went on to receive national acclaim with invitations to perform at Birmingham Symphony Hall and the Royal Albert Hall in London.

Angus is also a passionate chamber musician and enjoys collaborating as a pianist with many outstanding young musicians from around the world. He has studied piano with Alasdair Beatson at the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire, viola with Tim Boulton, conducting with Patrick Bailey, and chamber music with Ferenc Rados and Rita Wagner at the International Musicians Seminar, Prussia Cove.

Maya  Iwabuchi

Maya Iwabuchi Violin

Maya Iwabuchi is Leader of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, a position she has held since 2011. She began violin lessons at the age of two. Her main influences that remain integral to her working life are professors Alice Schoenfeld and Rodney Friend. Since her first concert at the age of five, Maya has enjoyed an international career as a solo violinist, chamber musician and orchestral leader. Her performances have taken her to major concert halls worldwide such as the Royal Festival Hall and Wigmore Hall in London, Musikverein in Vienna, Royal Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Lincoln Center and Carnegie Hall in New York City, and Suntory Hall in Tokyo. Highlights for Maya as soloist include appearances with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, New York Philharmonic and the Philharmonia Orchestra, and she has appeared in numerous renowned music festivals such as the BBC Proms, Aldeburgh, Bath and Chichester festivals, and the International Musicians Seminar in Prussia Cove. The Strad has hailed her playing as ‘simply brilliant’ and the Times as ‘gorgeous’, and she continues to receive praise from the press. A committed chamber musician, Maya has been a member of Mobius Ensemble since 2004, and she has also collaborated with artists such as Steven Isserlis and Gil Shaham. Maya has garnered much admiration in her role as Leader from artists and critics alike, and has been regularly invited to lead orchestras such as the Royal Philharmonic, City of Birmingham Symphony, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Orquestra Cadaqués and the John Wilson Orchestra. After 18 distinguished years, Maya ended her tenure as Leader of the Philharmonia Orchestra in 2012, having led for major conductors such as Sir Andrew Davis, Christoph von Dohnányi, Gustavo Dudamel, Valery Gergiev, Lorin Maazel, Riccardo Muti, Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Kurt Sanderling.